New NetworkMgr and I need testers

Open development discussions

Moderator: Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 22 times

New NetworkMgr and I need testers

Post by ericbsd » Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:38 am

Eh, I did a huge change in NetworkMgr. I did update it to python 3.6 and GTK3 it now supports multiple cards in the Menu tray and if you put a USB network card it should detect it and auto-configure it.

I need some people to battle test it and to give me feedback. The instruction to install it is at https://github.com/GhostBSD/networkmgr#networkmgr.

kraileth
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: New NetworkMgr and I need testers

Post by kraileth » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:23 am

Will give it a shot some evening during the week (I hope that I didn't already put my USB-LAN-adapter in some box).

I rolled two MATE isos yesterday evening, BTW. The first one was a bit too early since it used OpenRC which obviously doesn't work just yet. But the second one booting the old rc did boot to SLiM. However I wanted to tell you that on my test system the computer begun playing the welcome sound after login but froze in the middle of it. I had to do a hard reset and booting again verified that this behavior is repeatable. Just to let you know.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: New NetworkMgr and I need testers

Post by ericbsd » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:29 am

ghostbsd-build is not ready yet, Joe is work on it, and better just install 11.1 for the moment.

NevilleGoddard
Developer
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:30 pm
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: New NetworkMgr and I need testers

Post by NevilleGoddard » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:22 am

I tried the new networkmgr and it installed fine on FreeBSD 10.4 and worked great at work.
When I got home it wouldn't connect to my home network. It found the router and I clicked on it to connect, but it wouldn't do anything after that.
I tried doing as normal user the command "networkmgr" but nothing happened.
I had to use wifimgr to connect to my home router.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: New NetworkMgr and I need testers

Post by ericbsd » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:33 am

Yeah, there was a couple problem that I have fix yesterday night and it might worth a shot to update and try back.

Post Reply