Is there a way to get GBSD w/ BlackBox

Share your ideas, questions or suggestions with us here.
Post Reply
User avatar
wolf-nv
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 8:40 pm
Location: Reno, Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Is there a way to get GBSD w/ BlackBox

Post by wolf-nv » Sat Sep 07, 2013 10:19 am

I have tried different distros of BSD, Linux, and even Windows using a variation of the BlackBox WM! I love it, it does what it's supposed to and it's easy to configure your desktop the way YOU like it!
I am not a programmer and know almost nothing about XML, so it makes it hard for me to really get the desktop I want in OpenBox!
Is there a way to get GBSD in BlackBox ONLY!

User avatar
bsdkeith
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:36 pm
Location: Surrey/Hants Border, England
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Is there a way to get GBSD w/ BlackBox

Post by bsdkeith » Sat Sep 07, 2013 1:09 pm

There are to be only 4 alternate WM/DE for the 3.5 release. (As far as I am aware.)
Mate - XFCE - LXDE - Openbox

Openbox is very configurable, & quite similar to Blackbox.

http://urukrama.wordpress.com/openbox-guide/

Hope that helps you to decide.
Linux user since 1999; & now a BSD user.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Is there a way to get GBSD w/ BlackBox

Post by ericbsd » Sat Sep 07, 2013 1:33 pm

You can install Blackbox on the Openbox version.

Code: Select all

pkg_add -r blackbox
or

Code: Select all

cd /usr/ports/x11-wm/blackbox[
make install clean
Openbox use XML file for configuration which Fluxbox and blackbox dont use, they use more simple way to configure it.

User avatar
wolf-nv
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 8:40 pm
Location: Reno, Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Is there a way to get GBSD w/ BlackBox

Post by wolf-nv » Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:34 pm

Thanks all, especially Eric!
I will give your suggestions a ride! If it works, I will post the results!
And although OpenBox is a lot like BlackBox, for me, it is too hard to configure! When it comes to OpenBox, I am CLUELESS! Sorry!
;) :?:

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Is there a way to get GBSD w/ BlackBox

Post by ericbsd » Sat Sep 07, 2013 3:47 pm

GhostBSD is a project to bring FreeBSD already to use on GTK desktop and GTK WM, but this can change on the future. By installing Blackbox you will have to change your /home/user/.xinitrc to use blackbox.

Post Reply