Feedback on GhostBSD 20.01

Share your ideas, questions or suggestions with us here.
greadey

Feedback on GhostBSD 20.01

Post by greadey »

Hi There All,
I have just installed GhostBSD 20.01 on my machine. In the past I have tried all the BSDs before I found PCBSD which was a revelation. PCBSD then moved to TrueOS, which I was happy with and then we were told that the desktop version was moving to project Trident. At that point I tried installing GhostBSD and MidnightBSD none of which worked as well out of the box as PCBSD. I then went to a vanilla Freebsd and used it as a desktop for a fairly long time. Not being a trained sys admin I ended up bricking my install and rather than go through the FreeBSD desktop route again I decided to try the latest GhostBSD - 20.01.
Wow - what a breeze. Everything went well and I was greeted with a network connected box in what seemed like no time at all. All the permissions for a desktop user seemed to have been set - I can install packages using only my own password and I can shut the machine down without sudoing to root! The major problem was my Nvidia card being driven by the nv driver ( it has never worked for me). Googling on the subject I found some very clear and succinct instructions on how to install Nvidia drivers on GhostBSD. Job done. Well done, my shiny new GhostBSD is running just as well as a vanilla FreeBSD!
Two other problems which should be mentioned are;
My swap space (ZFS pool) was only 2.5 G, I am pretty sure I asked for 8 and although I can shutdown from within Mate, it seems that if I logout of Mate I get a black screen. I have not tried to change to a console and find out what was happening - I ended up pushing the power switch - it was time for bed.
All in all, a reasonably painless install, you have won me over. Thanks to all involved in bringing GhostBSD to the masses.
greadey
Vermilion

Re: Feedback on GhostBSD 20.01

Post by Vermilion »