A couple notes using GhostBSD 4.0 Alpha

Share your ideas, questions or suggestions with us here.
Post Reply
mrmdls
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:21 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

A couple notes using GhostBSD 4.0 Alpha

Post by mrmdls » Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:48 pm

Just installed GhostBSD 4.0 Alpha, and there was a couple hiccups that I noticed. During the initial install, the installer failed both using the option of using the entire disk, and with the partition editor on a hard drive that previously did not have BSD installed. I ended up using GhostBSD 2.5 to create the partitions in order to install the 4.0 alpha. In addition once installed, my network card was not enabled. I enabled "gre" network module and the corresponding "re0" for my ethernet card in boot/loader.conf and then rebooted the machine in order to get my network up.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: A couple notes using GhostBSD 4.0 Alpha

Post by ericbsd » Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:12 pm

The network manager add permission problem got it fix now and for the installer the pc-sysinstall log will be useful for me.

ovinet
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 3:14 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: A couple notes using GhostBSD 4.0 Alpha

Post by ovinet » Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:14 pm

Same probleme here Eric. Hdd missing in GBI. I will try to provide that log file.

ovinet
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 3:14 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: A couple notes using GhostBSD 4.0 Alpha

Post by ovinet » Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:41 pm

I can't find pc-sysinstall log, GBI did not failed, only it can't find hdd. I selected the "use entire disk" option and GBI just show an empty window. This tests was made on virtualbox with default settings at first and with ahci after that. Same results in both cases.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: A couple notes using GhostBSD 4.0 Alpha

Post by ericbsd » Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:34 pm

I have the same problem on virtualbox at the moment.

Post Reply