ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Share your ideas, questions or suggestions with us here.
rbrick49
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by rbrick49 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:06 pm

I tried to install ghost bsd 11 on my asus all in one I tried 2 times no luck.it wll run from the live usb but the graphics resolutition cant be changed heres my inxi
Machine: Device: desktop System: ASUSTeK product: Z240IC-H170 v: 0404
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: Z240IC-H170 v: Rev 1.xx
UEFI: American Megatrends v: 0404 date: 10/28/2015
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i7-6700T (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
clock speeds: max: 3600 MHz 1: 799 MHz 2: 799 MHz 3: 799 MHz
4: 799 MHz 5: 816 MHz 6: 1388 MHz 7: 1059 MHz 8: 1018 MHz
Graphics: Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 530
Card-2: NVIDIA GM107M [GeForce GTX 960M]
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.1 driver: intel
Resolution: 2560x1440@60.00hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.3
Audio: Card-1 NVIDIA Device 0fbc driver: snd_hda_intel
Card-2 Intel Sunrise Point-H HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.45-1-MANJARO
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8168
IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: 2c:56:dc:ec:29:84
Card-2: Intel Wireless 7265 driver: iwlwifi
IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: 18:5e:0f:d9:e4:91
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (2.0% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 904G used: 6.5G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
ID-2: swap-1 size: 13.74GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info: Processes: 179 Uptime: 20 min Memory: 1095.6/11909.4MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by ericbsd » Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:42 am

You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?

rbrick49
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by rbrick49 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:51 am

ericbsd wrote:You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?
no when Itry to install it reboots but no desktop it runs like a terminal with a load of info and it stops at /usr/something/something

kraileth
Developer
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by kraileth » Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:46 am

rbrick49 wrote:
ericbsd wrote:You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?
no when Itry to install it reboots but no desktop it runs like a terminal with a load of info and it stops at /usr/something/something
Does that mean that you can run the live system and do an installation but when that is complete and you reboot it will not enter the graphical environment and leave you with the console?

rbrick49
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by rbrick49 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:49 pm

kraileth wrote:
rbrick49 wrote:
ericbsd wrote:You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?
no when Itry to install it reboots but no desktop it runs like a terminal with a load of info and it stops at /usr/something/something
Does that mean that you can run the live system and do an installation but when that is complete and you reboot it will not enter the graphical environment and leave you with the console?
yes exactly thats what it does

kraileth
Developer
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by kraileth » Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:09 am

rbrick49 wrote:yes exactly thats what it does
Ok. What graphics option did you chose for the installation (like Auto detect, Intel, ...)? And could you login on the console and try to run this:

Code: Select all

Xorg -configure
This will attempt to automatically figure out how to configure your hardware and write a new configuration for X11. Does it successfully write one (it should tell you where it put it in this case) or does it fail?

rbrick49
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by rbrick49 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:59 am

kraileth wrote:
rbrick49 wrote:yes exactly thats what it does
Ok. What graphics option did you chose for the installation (like Auto detect, Intel, ...)? And could you login on the console and try to run this:

Code: Select all

Xorg -configure
This will attempt to automatically figure out how to configure your hardware and write a new configuration for X11. Does it successfully write one (it should tell you where it put it in this case) or does it fail?
ok I will give that a shot

rbrick49
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by rbrick49 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:07 pm

it failed no luck with it, I see the message when its booting something about optimus to do with nvidia but it doesnt do anything

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by ericbsd » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:41 pm

I think with optimus your best bet is to try to configure it to use Intel.

The next Hardware I need to by is a laptop with optimus to fix that issue on GhostBSD.

rbrick49
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Post by rbrick49 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:27 pm

ericbsd wrote:I think with optimus your best bet is to try to configure it to use Intel.

The next Hardware I need to by is a laptop with optimus to fix that issue on GhostBSD.
this thing has dual cards it is an asus all in one ,what I dont understand is how come the live usb boots to a working desktop but after doing a install it only boots to a terminal I have tried other linux os on this and they work fine I am using manjaro xfce on this to send you this message.I have ghost bsd 11running on the other computer and it is running like a charm anyway thanks for the help an let me know if you get any further ideas
regards Ron

Post Reply