Anybody else having issues with Ports

Installing and maintaining software with the FreeBSD Ports Collection.
fmh
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:07 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by fmh » Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:23 am

Since I can't boot the VM how would I install Mate? Boot into the Command Line in Single User Mode?

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by ericbsd » Sun Jan 04, 2015 2:04 pm

If you can not boot the VM you might not be able to boot to the single user. But you can give it a try.

Once you in the single user mode you will need to do this:

Code: Select all

mount -u /
Before doing anything else.

fmh
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:07 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by fmh » Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:50 pm

I tried and it stated it needed a fsck.
I ran fsck and it said something about Journalling and y/n so I said Yes and it applied Journaling.
I then was able to mount -u /
then
reboot
and its still won't boot. I started another fresh VM to work with and will delete this one.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by ericbsd » Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:13 pm

Once you do mount -u / you can install software from there like Mate.

What you mean it wont boot?

fmh
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:07 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by fmh » Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:15 pm

Just a black screen and no disk activity.

fmh
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:07 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by fmh » Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:21 pm

I just ended up deleting the VM and started over. There is obviously something wrong in the pkgng repository as many Apps now no longer run once installed stating that dependencies are missing. In time they'll get all fixed. Had the same issue last Summer and a couple of months later it was all good.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by ericbsd » Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:11 pm

The thing is that Gnome2 as been remove from ports and Gnome3 has been added, this as cause issue for sure.

fmh
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:07 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by fmh » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:31 pm

But in the few weeks they did this? In October and November GhostBSD 4.0 32-bit worked fine. Now it's a ### shoot if any package will install let alone work.

offthegrid
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by offthegrid » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:15 pm

fmh wrote:Just a black screen and no disk activity.
I had the same thing happen to me and I had it on the whole disk. Nothing would boot off the CD until I unplugged the box for a few minutes. I'm running Mint right now.

I ran this sudo pkg install -f pkg' and it installed all the libs that Chromium needed and after that it wouldn't boot.

I really like Ghost but not with Firefox. Any chance the next version will have Chromium preinstalled? Either way I'll give it another try once I see something here that shows this cleared up.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Anybody else having issues with Ports

Post by ericbsd » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:34 pm

I don't putting Google stuff in GhostBSD is good idea.

Post Reply