ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Help with setting up network cards, including WiFi cards.
lizbeth
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:04 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Post by lizbeth » Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:12 pm

Using ifconfig_fxp0 doesn't seems to work with that line. Using ifconfig_alc0 allows me to disable and reenable the networking but I still get ether 00:00:00:00:00:00 on my ifconfig output but the inet is now 192.268.0.14 with a broadcast of 192.268.0.255

lizbeth
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:04 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Post by lizbeth » Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:13 pm

My modem admin page show nothing connected by the Ethernet.

lizbeth
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:04 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Post by lizbeth » Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:16 pm

My modem admin page show nothing connected by the Ethernet. I suppose I could try adding the static address using e MAC address of my computer and the .14 IP address in the modem admin page,

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Post by ericbsd » Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:26 pm

I did not specified that the replacement is in the /etc/rc.conf file.
alc0 is the right driver, but for the IP it might not work for you, also I had give you wrong line replace ifconfig_alc0="DHCP" in /etc/rc.conf its

Code: Select all

ifconfig_alc0="inet 192.168.0.14  netmask 255.255.255.0"
Also this page might help you to further to fix this issue http://sleepyhead.de/howto/?href=network.

Can you give me the output of netstat -in please?

lizbeth
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:04 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Post by lizbeth » Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:35 pm

Im in but im not sure how. On ghost-bsd though.

I did an ifconfig alc0 link my:computer's:mac:address:in:here

then went back into rc.conf and edited that line back to ifconfig_alc0="DHCP"

and it shows up. at ip address .20

lizbeth
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:04 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Post by lizbeth » Sun Sep 21, 2014 11:08 pm

well the internet connection survived the reboot but the ipaddress has changed and the mac address is still empty. Also the modem doesn't show the device as active yet i am using it on the interne now. Works. don't know how but it works.

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: ditched wireless, went wired and still no internet

Post by ericbsd » Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:33 am

The mac address can be all zero and it will work you can also change it for what ever you want.

Code: Select all

 ifconfig alc0 down
ifconfig alc0 link 00:01:02:03:04:05
ifconfig alc0 up

Post Reply