WiFi Not Working

Help with setting up network cards, including WiFi cards.
NevilleGoddard
Developer
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:30 pm
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: WiFi Not Working

Post by NevilleGoddard » Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:51 am

By the way I would make a whole new install media before trying a fresh install and do a md5 check on your GhostBSD ISO image just to make sure it's OK.

wb7odyfred
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: WiFi Not Working

Post by wb7odyfred » Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:58 am

Run wpa_supplicant(8) to associate to an access point defined in /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf.

Code: Select all

wpa_supplicant -B -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
Line 3 from Command Line Manual Method section of http://www.wonkity.com/~wblock/docs/html/wireless.html

After suspend resume, you might have to manually run "wpa_supplicant" command to associate to an access point.

I was having trouble associating with my T-mobile phones Wi-Fi hotspot that was using WPA2 and forgot about using the wpa_supplicant command.

You might try

Code: Select all

service netif restart
service   routing    restart
Please comment if these solutions, do solve your wifi connection problem.


viewtopic.php?f=64&t=570

wb7odyfred
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: WiFi Not Working. Use WPA_Supplicant command

Post by wb7odyfred » Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:19 am

http://unsolicitedbutoffered.blogspot.c ... and_2.html Does a good job of explaining the steps to get wifi working in GhostBSD. Creating the Passkey step 6.

Code: Select all

service netif restart
service routing restart
from Google Groups mailing lists messages; https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... iNiU-m5AAg
I'm able to config the route via "service routing restart" - or manually as I did
otherwise. But I recall that I did a simple "service netif restart" in 11-CURRENT
recently and that worked.

Has there been a change? What is now the official way to restart network?

Kind regards,
Oliver

The knowledge of the fact that I also have to restart routing via a
script is sufficient for me - also the fact to know that netif restart
doesn't restart routing.

Oliver Hartmann

As far as I am aware, this has always been this way, at least with
FreeBSD 6.0 and later. When you delete the interfaces, the route goes
away, then you recreate the interfaces but not the routes.

--
Allan Jude

ASX
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 12:46 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: WiFi Not Working

Post by ASX » Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:42 am

I can't think of any reason why restarting netif should not restart routing too. :(
Must be one of those FreeBSD "peculiarities".

Post Reply