Internal webcam not working

Post your general questions or comments about GhostBSD here!
spanakop

Internal webcam not working

Post by spanakop »

Hi all. I have a Thinkpad T470 and I'm having problems getting the internal webcam working.

I have done the following;
Added this to /boot/loader.conf

Code: Select all

cuse_load="YES"
webcamd is installed and the service is running. usbconfig gives me a list of items one of which is this;

ugen0.3: <Bison Integrated Camera> at usbus0, cfg=0 md=HOST spd=HIGH (480Mbps) pwr=ON (500mA)
Added this to /etc/rc.conf

webcamd_enable="YES"
webcamd_0_flags="-B -d ugen0.3"
Running this 'webcamd -d ugen0.3' yields;

Webcamd is already running for ugen0.3.0
I am a member of the operator, wheel, video and webcamd groups. If I try to run webcamoid, the camera is not listed, nor is it listed in VLC. If i try to test the camera through Firefox, nothing is working.

Not sure what else I should be doing.
spanakop

Re: Internal webcam not working

Post by spanakop »

After many hours looking into this, I think I have found the answer. Hald service needs to be running for this to work. I had made the assumption that because 'hald_enable="YES"' was in my rc.conf file, the service was running. However, running 'rc-status' showed that it was not. Running 'service hald status' would report that it is stopped. Starting hald and restarting webcamd service, then gave me my internal webcam.

Another problem is that rc-service reports hald as crashed. So I need to understand why this is the case.
ericbsd
Developer

Post by ericbsd »

spanakop wrote: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:22 pm Hi all. I have a Thinkpad T470, and I'm having problems getting the internal webcam working.

I have done the following;
Added this to /boot/loader.conf

cuse_load="YES"
webcamd is installed and the service is running. usbconfig gives me a list of items one of which is this;

ugen0.3: <Bison Integrated Camera> at usbus0, cfg=0 md=HOST spd=HIGH (480Mbps) pwr=ON (500mA)