Become root

Need support for GhostBSD. Ask here if your question does not fit elsewhere.
1956Firebird

Become root

Post by 1956Firebird »

Hi everyone.
I finally decided to escape from Windows and have installed GhostBSD on a new (ie - untainted) PC. So, I'm a complete newbie. During set up I entered admin and user passwords as requested and everything seems hunky dory.
I now want to add new discs.
I can't find any instructions in GhostBSD documentation.
FreeBSD instructions say connect it up as usual, boot, then "become root" and enter the commands given.
Can someone please tell me how I "become root"? I've tried every boot menu permutation but all I manage is to enter my user account. :roll:
RodMyers

Re: Become root

Post by RodMyers »

do you mean logging in via the log in manager? not allowed.

if root has no password, as your user, do the following in a terminal;

sudo passwd root <enter>

enter the password.

to get into the root account, in a terminal type

su -
chadbsd

Post by chadbsd »

Welcome to the world of GhostBSD! Transitioning from Windows to GhostBSD is a significant step, and it sounds like you're on the right path. The concept of "becoming root" in FreeBSD-based systems like GhostBSD refers to gaining root (administrator) access to execute commands that require higher privileges than those available to a standard user account.

In GhostBSD, and other Unix-like operating systems, there are a couple of common ways to gain root access for terminal commands:

1. Using `su` (Switch User)
- Open your terminal.
- Type `su` and press Enter. This command stands for "switch user," and without any arguments, it attempts to switch to the root user.
- You'll be prompted to enter the root password. This is the admin password you set up during installation.
- Once entered correctly, your terminal prompt should change to indicate that you're now operating as the root user. You can then execute the commands that require root privileges.

2. Using `sudo`