definite linux newb with installer questions

Need support for GhostBSD. Ask here if your question does not fit elsewhere.
haemphyst

definite linux newb with installer questions

Post by haemphyst »

Good morning, all... Please be kind, I'm a 30+ year vet of the M$ world (with many certs thereof...), and I'm trying to locate a daily-driver replacement for that platform. I have tried Ubuntu, BlendOS, Garuda, SuSE, Fedora, Alma Linux, CentOS... You name it, I've tried it. I even played (way back when) with BeOS (now, sadly dead) and its successor Zeta.

I have very few needs in my PCs. I have two very nice Precision laptops (a 15" and a 17"), decked out with STACKS of 500GB 860 EVO SSDs (swappable, and because of the many pre-filled caddies I have, Windows XP, 7, 10, and 11 are all accessible with a few BIOS keystrokes - UEFI or not, nVidia Optimus or not, etc) DL Blu-Ray writers, and 32GB of RAM on quad-core i7 2.7GHz (1.2/3.7) CPUs. Outclassed today certainly, but rocketships when any flavor of Linux is installed. No games. A ton of web browsing, occasionally I watch a movie. My biggest thing is audio applications. I build speakers, and I use them for enclosure planning (with sheet-cut plans, testing of drivers, waterfall plots after the build is complete, eventually a 3-D printer and Maslow CNC table, and a blackToothv2 LASER cutter/engraver). Enough of that...

I'm having troubles installing an application, and I've been unable to locate the fix. REW is a testing software that I want to try out, because it looks like it will do what I want it to do. I have the file, I can navigate to it, I have set the attributes on it (chmod -x), but when I try to install it using:

sudo pkg add REW.sh

I get this:

pkg: archive_read_open_filename(REW.sh): Unrecognized archive format