Development proposal

Open development discussions

Moderator: Developer

bmelo

Development proposal

Post by bmelo »

Hi, I am a C and Python developer as also FreeBSD-family user and Manjaro user. I'm loving Manjaro, specially Pamac and all its own utilities like Manjaro Hello, Calamares and Manjaro Settings Manager.

Yesterday I have had an idea: I'd like my FreeBSD be so awesome like Manjaro is for GNU/Linux. So I thought about starting to port (and rewrite when impossible) Manjaro tools to FreeBSD.

I know GhostBSD faces manpower difficulties. So why not propose to use already-written tools for GhostBSD future? I can help on it.

Bye.
kraileth

Re: Development proposal

Post by kraileth »

Hi bmelo and welcome to the forums!

I've been an Arch Linux user before I switched to FreeBSD and I've installed Manjaro and Antergos for some friends. Pacman is definitely a great package manager that I liked a lot. I'm not completely sure if it fits well into the FreeBSD world. A few years earlier - perhaps. But now we have pkg and it's working perfectly fine. Also Pacman has the downside that it's not BSD-license. But did you know that there is a FreeBSD distribution that uses Pacman? It was once known as ArchBSD but later renamed to PacBSD.

If however you were thinking about porting the GUI tools over so that they can be used with FreeBSD's pkg - that could be an interesting thing. I don't remember Manjaro Hello off the top of my head. When it comes to Calamares, I have bad rather bad memories of it (it's been some time, though, I could be wrong). But Pamac - why not? Ignoring the minor flaw that is the license, it has the benefit of using GTK3 while OctoPkg (which GhostBSD uses now) is Qt-based.

Could you elaborate a little on Manjaro Hello and why you think Calamares is a good installer? How do you think ZFS fits in there?
bmelo

Post by bmelo »