ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Share your ideas, questions or suggestions with us here.

ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby rbrick49 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:06 am

I tried to install ghost bsd 11 on my asus all in one I tried 2 times no luck.it wll run from the live usb but the graphics resolutition cant be changed heres my inxi
Machine: Device: desktop System: ASUSTeK product: Z240IC-H170 v: 0404
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: Z240IC-H170 v: Rev 1.xx
UEFI: American Megatrends v: 0404 date: 10/28/2015
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i7-6700T (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
clock speeds: max: 3600 MHz 1: 799 MHz 2: 799 MHz 3: 799 MHz
4: 799 MHz 5: 816 MHz 6: 1388 MHz 7: 1059 MHz 8: 1018 MHz
Graphics: Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 530
Card-2: NVIDIA GM107M [GeForce GTX 960M]
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.1 driver: intel
Resolution: 2560x1440@60.00hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.3
Audio: Card-1 NVIDIA Device 0fbc driver: snd_hda_intel
Card-2 Intel Sunrise Point-H HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.45-1-MANJARO
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8168
IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: 2c:56:dc:ec:29:84
Card-2: Intel Wireless 7265 driver: iwlwifi
IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: 18:5e:0f:d9:e4:91
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (2.0% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 904G used: 6.5G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
ID-2: swap-1 size: 13.74GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info: Processes: 179 Uptime: 20 min Memory: 1095.6/11909.4MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8
rbrick49
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia


Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby ericbsd » Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:42 am

You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?
ericbsd
Developer
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby rbrick49 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:51 pm

ericbsd wrote:You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?

no when Itry to install it reboots but no desktop it runs like a terminal with a load of info and it stops at /usr/something/something
rbrick49
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby kraileth » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:46 pm

rbrick49 wrote:
ericbsd wrote:You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?

no when Itry to install it reboots but no desktop it runs like a terminal with a load of info and it stops at /usr/something/something


Does that mean that you can run the live system and do an installation but when that is complete and you reboot it will not enter the graphical environment and leave you with the console?
kraileth
Developer
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby rbrick49 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:49 pm

kraileth wrote:
rbrick49 wrote:
ericbsd wrote:You will need to setup one of your graphic card its probably trying to load mesa. Is the screen go blank?

no when Itry to install it reboots but no desktop it runs like a terminal with a load of info and it stops at /usr/something/something


Does that mean that you can run the live system and do an installation but when that is complete and you reboot it will not enter the graphical environment and leave you with the console?

yes exactly thats what it does
rbrick49
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby kraileth » Fri Feb 17, 2017 4:09 am

rbrick49 wrote:yes exactly thats what it does


Ok. What graphics option did you chose for the installation (like Auto detect, Intel, ...)? And could you login on the console and try to run this:

Code: Select all
Xorg -configure


This will attempt to automatically figure out how to configure your hardware and write a new configuration for X11. Does it successfully write one (it should tell you where it put it in this case) or does it fail?
kraileth
Developer
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby rbrick49 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:59 am

kraileth wrote:
rbrick49 wrote:yes exactly thats what it does


Ok. What graphics option did you chose for the installation (like Auto detect, Intel, ...)? And could you login on the console and try to run this:

Code: Select all
Xorg -configure


This will attempt to automatically figure out how to configure your hardware and write a new configuration for X11. Does it successfully write one (it should tell you where it put it in this case) or does it fail?

ok I will give that a shot
rbrick49
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby rbrick49 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:07 pm

it failed no luck with it, I see the message when its booting something about optimus to do with nvidia but it doesnt do anything
rbrick49
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby ericbsd » Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:41 am

I think with optimus your best bet is to try to configure it to use Intel.

The next Hardware I need to by is a laptop with optimus to fix that issue on GhostBSD.
ericbsd
Developer
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: ASUS Zen AIO all in one and nvidia

Postby rbrick49 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:27 am

ericbsd wrote:I think with optimus your best bet is to try to configure it to use Intel.

The next Hardware I need to by is a laptop with optimus to fix that issue on GhostBSD.

this thing has dual cards it is an asus all in one ,what I dont understand is how come the live usb boots to a working desktop but after doing a install it only boots to a terminal I have tried other linux os on this and they work fine I am using manjaro xfce on this to send you this message.I have ghost bsd 11running on the other computer and it is running like a charm anyway thanks for the help an let me know if you get any further ideas
regards Ron
rbrick49
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest