How to Configure a Static IP Address

Configuring and tweaking your GhostBSD System.

How to Configure a Static IP Address

Postby NevilleGoddard » Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:22 am

When booting GhostBSD sometimes there is a pause while the DHCP network is starting. This slows things down a little while but there is an easy way around this.
First open up a terminal and type -
ifconfig

Then you'll get output that looks something like this:

em0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=4219b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,WOL_MAGIC,VLAN_HWTSO>
ether bc:5f:f4:fb:a2:a9
inet 192.168.3.6 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>

The important things to look for here are :

em0 (your network device mat be different - adjust accordingly)

inet 192.168.3.6 and

netmask 0xffffff00 (on your system your numbers may be different so adjust accordingly)

Then log in as root
Then type -

ifconfig em0 inet 192.168.3.6 netmask 0xffffff00

(from your terminal output)
then still as root:

dhclient em0

(again - adjust accordingly)
The output from this command will contain something similar to:

DHCPACK from 192.168.3.4 - (your number may be different) remember 192.168.3.4 for when editing /etc/rc,conf

then the command:

route add default 192.168.3.4
-(or your number)

then edit /etc/rc.conf:

command:

ee /etc/rc.conf

Go down with your keyboard arrow keys to the line:

ifconfig_em0="DHCP"

and comment (#) this line so it looks like this:

#ifconfig_em0="DHCP"

then under this line enter these lines:

ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.3.6 netmask 0xffffff00"
defaultrouter="192.168.3.4"

Make sure you use exactly the same numbers as your terminal output above and be careful to put correct spaces and quotation marks.

then press Esc save changes and reboot and you should have your static ip address working and slightly faster boot times. :D

If for some reason you want to go back and undo all these changes then:

Open a terminal, log in as root:
Then type :

ee /etc/rc.conf

Go down with your arrow keys to the 2 lines that you made before:


ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.3.6 netmask 0xffffff00"
defaultrouter="192.168.3.4

and comment them (#) so they look like this:

#ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.3.6 netmask 0xffffff00"
#defaultrouter="192.168.3.4"

Or you can just delete them


Then go to the line :

#ifconfig_em0="DHCP"

and uncomment it so it looks like this:


ifconfig_em0="DHCP"

Press Esc and save changes when prompted and reboot and it will back to the way it was before
Last edited by NevilleGoddard on Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
NevilleGoddard
Developer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 46 times

How to Configure a Static IP Address


Re: How to Configure a Static IP Address

Postby ASX » Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:54 pm

Thanks.

Code: Select all
ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.3.6 netmask 0xffffff00"


please note that the above can also be written as:

Code: Select all
ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.3.6 netmask 255.255.255.0"


or
Code: Select all
ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.3.6/24"


Also, be sure to use an IP address outside the range used from the DHCP server, else you risk a duplicate IP address.
ASX
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: How to Configure a Static IP Address

Postby CarolineSmith » Tue Jul 18, 2017 5:16 am

Thanks for explaining here on how to configure a static IP Address which is really helpful for IT students who are getting help with assignment from me at Quality Assignment UK.
CarolineSmith
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 5:02 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to Configure a Static IP Address

Postby NevilleGoddard » Tue Jul 18, 2017 5:41 am

No worries. Glad I could help!
NevilleGoddard
Developer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: How to Configure a Static IP Address

Postby Kernelpanic » Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:39 am

NevilleGoddard wrote:No worries. Glad I could help!

Thanks
You did it ;)
Kernelpanic
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron