WiFi Not Working

Help with setting up network cards, including WiFi cards.

WiFi Not Working

Postby scifidude79 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 12:41 am

This is on GhostBSD 10.1 MATE 64-bit. (the latest .iso)

I've been through the FAQ section and the FreeBSD Handbook section on Wireless Networking and, from what I can tell, my WiFi should be working but it's not. Here's the output from sudo ifconfig | grep -B 3 802.11:

Code: Select all
run0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 2290
   ether 90:94:e4:02:bc:68
   nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
   media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect mode 11g
--
wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
   ether 90:94:e4:02:bc:68
   nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
   media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)


From what I can tell, the system correctly identifies my WiFi Adapter, which is a D-Link DWA 140, version B2. From the looks of that output, I don't need to use a special driver. When I run sudo ifconfig wlan0 up, the adapter turns on because the orange light starts blinking. However, when I run sudo ifconfig wlan0 scan or sudo ifconfig wlan0 up scan, I get no output. It appears to not be finding any of the WiFi networks in range, including the one in this house that I want to connect to.

I know the WiFi adapter works, because I'm using it right now to submit this message in Linux Mint, which I have installed in a dual boot with GhostBSD.

So, does anybody have any idea as to what could be wrong or what I could be doing wrong? Without WiFi, I don't have Internet access on this computer without running a long length of Cat5E from my computer, through the wall, up across the attic, down through another wall, to the cable modem, which I'm not really keen to do at this point in time.
scifidude79
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

WiFi Not Working


Re: WiFi Not Working

Postby ASX » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:01 am

Hi, glad to see you here!

may be firmware is not loaded ? man page says it is required:

if_run_load="YES"
runfw_load="YES"


You can verify by using the following command (similar to Linux's lsmod):
Code: Select all
kldstat
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: ITALY
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: WiFi Not Working

Postby scifidude79 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 2:49 pm

Thanks for the reply. I'll give that a shot here in a little bit. :)
scifidude79
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WiFi Not Working

Postby Soldier » Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:28 am

My adapter tp-link tl-wn7200nd will word after this steps. I'm reinstall system with UFS and BSD loader how tell me ASX. After add if_run_load="YES" and runfw_load="YES" in /boot/loader.conf. After i check rc.conf for type wlans_run0="wlan0" and ifconfig_wlan0="WPA DHCP". After i use wpa_passphrase. Reboot network and use ifconfig wlan0 up scan. Network start work. Now network auto start every time.

Sorry for my english)
Soldier
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:29 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WiFi Not Working

Postby hank2000 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:56 pm

Hi folks

although subject is a year old, I experience the same problems with WiFi on an Asus EEE netbook with Atheros chip and GhostBSD 10.1 XFCE.
strange thing is:

1) had four or five installations cause once Dual boot didnt work (still does not, used entire disk now), then last time HAD wifi, did system update which killed my desktop (black screen with only cursor visible) then re-install
2) now reinstall done, with "ifconfig wlan0 up scan" can see my wifis around but with every step from wiki and forum incl. adapting rc.conf with:


and the usual :
cat /etc/rc.conf | grep wlan0
wlans_ath0="wlan0"
ifconfig_wlan0="WPA DHCP"
and ifconfig wlan0 up only get "no carrier" and now completely lost what else may be missing or I m doin wrong??

what else should I try except the steps from "Why my WiFi don't work?" FAQ s and this forum tipps in here?
******************************************************************************************************************************

latest update:

1)With atheros AR9285 detected by boot and the message "starting wpa_supplicant" after all the steps from "FAQs" and rc.conf configured and network restarted, I still get "no carrier"???
2) with "ifconfig wlan0 up scan" I still see the Wifi s in my neighbourhood, is there the password mssing for connecting to my router and how was the command/parameter again for THAT??
help pls!

best Achim
hank2000
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:42 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron