Radeon and GhostBSD

Post your general questions or comments about GhostBSD here!

Re: Radeon and GhostBSD

Postby NevilleGoddard » Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:25 am

It looks like I had a bad RAM slot. :roll: I've gone back to the nvidia card and everything is OK.
NevilleGoddard
Developer
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Radeon and GhostBSD


Re: Radeon and GhostBSD

Postby ASX » Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:57 am

NevilleGoddard wrote:It looks like I had a bad RAM slot. :roll: I've gone back to the nvidia card and everything is OK.


Ouch! That's a nasty thing.
bad ram/bad ram slot can lead to programs abortion, kernel panic, data and/or program corruption ...
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Radeon and GhostBSD

Postby NevilleGoddard » Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:09 am

It certainly is a bad thing. Luckily I have 4 ram slots. :D The RAM sticks were originally in slots A2 B2 now they're in A1 B1 and everything seems to be OK. However I only have single channel RAM which means I only have 4gb not 8gb of RAM. :(

The BIOS sees both 4gb sticks and says I have 8gb RAM but for some reason it is stuck in single channel mode. This means I think that there is something wrong with my cpu's ram controller. I'll try to fix it later.
NevilleGoddard
Developer
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Previous

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron