Is Chromium Running in a Jail?

Post your general questions or comments about GhostBSD here!

Is Chromium Running in a Jail?

Postby wiredrunner » Sun Jan 15, 2017 5:22 am

I know there is no sandbox for Chromium in any BSD but is the process running in a jail? I'm betting it's not because of -

kern.ipc.shm_allow_removed=1 but that's a guess on my part based on a thread in the FreeBSD forums.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
wiredrunner
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:37 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Is Chromium Running in a Jail?


Re: Is Chromium Running in a Jail?

Postby ericbsd » Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:07 am

It is not running in a jail. But it could be possible to make it run in a jail.
User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Is Chromium Running in a Jail?

Postby wiredrunner » Sun Jan 15, 2017 3:58 pm

Thanks Eric, I'll look into that with searches and see how far I can get before I have to ask for help. I've put the GhostBSD forum into my RSS feed so I won't miss any info being discussed which is great!

Kudos, on OctoPkg! lets me see what is installed just like Yumex in Fedora - is there a way to increase the font in that? I'm halfway to blind, LOL
wiredrunner
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:37 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Is Chromium Running in a Jail?

Postby ASX » Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:29 pm

This could be of some help: https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/53362
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Is Chromium Running in a Jail?

Postby wiredrunner » Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:43 pm

Thanks!
wiredrunner
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:37 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Is Chromium Running in a Jail?

Postby ASX » Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:10 am

wiredrunner wrote:Kudos, on OctoPkg! lets me see what is installed just like Yumex in Fedora - is there a way to increase the font in that? I'm halfway to blind, LOL


Installl the package: qt5ct

set the following variable in your shell initialization file (.profile, .bashrc, .chhrc, depending on your shell)
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct

after that, re-login and launch qt5ct (QT5 settings), customize fonts, and report back.
If that doesn't solve, we can contact Octopkg's author. ;)
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 122 times


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests