Is GhostBSD a sort of "rolling release"?

Post your general questions or comments about GhostBSD here!
vaisarger

Is GhostBSD a sort of "rolling release"?

Post by vaisarger »

Hi!
I apologize in advance for question, but I am a beginner in *BSD.

I tried the "upgrade package" feature in Octopkg and the system update through "Update station" tray icon (I believe that is the name) : both worked really ok!
Then, I asked myself "what about" major version change?

Is GhostBSD/FreeBSD like a "rolling release" or not? And, in latter case, how is the procedure to upgrade from an old major version to next one?

E.g.: If I had in my PC: GhostBSD 4.0, was it possible to upgrade to 10.x version?
ericbsd
Developer

Re: Is GhostBSD a sort of "rolling release"?

Post by ericbsd »

It is possible to upgrade the base system to 10.x using freebsd-update, but for GhostBSD upgrade it is not yet there. But the plane is to move GhostBSD as an hybrid of normal release and of rolling release. The plan is to have 11.0 to be able to run at latest FreeBSD base system with out having to wait to the next GhostBSD release and when GhostBSD next release it will push the upgrade will be available, and in 10.2 you will able to chose to have stable pkg upgrade or always be at the latest pkg available. With upcoming base system upgrade coming to pkg it will give use a better way to upgrade FreeBSD base system and it will make GhostBSD more likely a rolling release.
vaisarger

Post by vaisarger »

Thank you for reply! :D

I would like to keep on using this nice OS, and I need to ask you the last question...

For next major release, until plan you said will be actual, do we need a DVD-ROM to upgrade system manually?

And how to do it? :oops:

Thanks
ericbsd
Developer

Post by ericbsd »

Upgrading Using “FreeBSD Update”
The freebsd-update utility supports binary upgrades of i386 and amd64 systems running earlier FreeBSD releases.

Code: Select all

freebsd-update fetch

freebsd-update install