need wifi on laptop

Need support for GhostBSD. Ask here if your question does not fit elsewhere.

need wifi on laptop

Postby billwx » Mon May 02, 2016 1:37 am

Hi all,

I have followed the freebsd directions but still have no wifi. Using Dell latitude e5420 with GhostBSD 10.1 in multiboot with 2 linux OS's. Wifi has worked, after more or less configuration, with every unix-like system i have tried except debian and bsd. Can anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong? Many thanks!
peace
-bill
billwx
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

need wifi on laptop


Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby ericbsd » Mon May 02, 2016 4:02 pm

Can you go in a terminal give me the output of:
Code: Select all
cat /etc/rc.conf
And
Code: Select all
ifconfig
User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
 
Posts: 1096
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby billwx » Tue May 03, 2016 11:51 pm

Welcome to fish, the friendly interactive shell
Type help for instructions on how to use fish
bill@ghostbsd ~> cat /etc/rc.conf
#
# See /etc/defaults/rc.conf to add more option.
# Do not configure /etc/defaults/rc.conf.
# Configure only this file.
#


# Power saver.
powerd_enable="YES"
powerd_flags="-a adp -b adp"

# DEVFS rules
devfs_system_ruleset="devfsrules_common"

cupsd_enable="YES"

gdm_enable="YES"
hald_enable="YES"
dbus_enable="YES"

# Enable linux compactibility
linux_enable="YES"

# Virtual Box adition configuration
vboxguest_enable="YES"
vboxservice_enable="YES"
gdm_lang="en_US.UTF-8"
keymap="us.iso"
hostname="ghostbsd"

#Netork card configuration by Networkmgr
wlans_iwn0="wlan0"
ifconfig_wlan0="WPA DHCP"
ifconfig_bge0="DHCP"


and

bill@ghostbsd ~> ifconfig
iwn0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 2290
ether 08:11:96:0e:6a:30
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)
status: no carrier
bge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=c019b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,VLAN_HWTSO,LINKSTATE>
ether d0:67:e5:37:89:29
inet 192.168.2.8 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
wlan0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether 08:11:96:0e:6a:30
nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)
status: no carrier
ssid "" channel 1 (2412 MHz 11b)
country US authmode OPEN privacy OFF txpower 14 bmiss 10 scanvalid 60
bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250 roam:rssi 7 roam:rate 1 wme
bintval 0

Sure, and many thanks! Printer is Epson XP-300.
peace
-bill
billwx
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby ericbsd » Wed May 04, 2016 8:47 am

Do in terminal:
Code: Select all
su

Code: Select all
ifconfig wlan0 up scan
User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
 
Posts: 1096
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby billwx » Fri May 06, 2016 1:04 am

First try nothing happened except the wifi light on my laptop was flashing rapidly. Second try i get this, the B&V being my wifi, but still no connection...

SSID/MESH ID BSSID CHAN RATE S:N INT CAPS
suddenlink.... bc:4d:fb:6f:d3:48 6 54M -81:-95 100 EPS HTCAP WME ATH RSN WPS
B&V Network... 00:22:75:b5:30:94 5 54M -71:-95 100 EP HTCAP WPA RSN WME WPS
suddenlink.... be:4d:fb:6f:d3:40 149 54M -85:-95 100 EP HTCAP WME ATH RSN WPS
billwx
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby ASX » Sun May 08, 2016 1:09 pm

billwx, please try to use the following command:
Code: Select all
ifconfig -v wlan0 up scan


also see: http://issues.ghostbsd.org/view.php?id=56
may be you just met this nasty bug.
ASX
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby billwx » Mon May 09, 2016 5:14 am

B&V Networks Ltd 00:22:75:b5:30:94 5 54M -72:-95 100 EP SSID<B&V Networks Ltd> RATES<B2,B4,B11,B22,18,36,72,108> DSPARMS<5> ERP<0x4> XRATES<12,24,48,96> HTCAP<cap 0x11ee param 0xf mcsset[0-15,32] extcap 0x0 txbf 0x0 antenna 0x0> HTINFO<ctl 5, 7,6,0,0 basicmcs[]> ???<3e0100> WPA<v1 mc:TKIP uc:TKIP+AES-CCMP km:8021X-PSK> RSN<v1 mc:TKIP uc:TKIP+AES-CCMP km:8021X-PSK> WME<qosinfo 0x0 BE[aifsn 3 cwmin 4 cwmax 10 txop 0] BK[aifsn 7 cwmin 4 cwmax 10 txop 0] VO[aifsn 2 cwmin 3 cwmax 4 txop 94] VI[aifsn 2 cwmin 2 cwmax 3 txop 47]> ???<7f0101> VEN<dd07000c4300000000> VEN<dd1e00904c33ee110fffff000001000000-> VEN<dd1a00904c340507060000000000000000-> WPS<v:1.0 st:C uuid-e:28-80-28-80-28-80-18-80-a8-80-00-22-75-b5-30-94>
billwx
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby ASX » Mon May 09, 2016 7:15 am

Indeed, your setup is affected from the mentioned bug.

You can work around that temporarily, by editing /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf and change:

ssid="B&V Network..."


to:

ssid="B&V Networks Ltd"


reboot, and you connection should come up
After that, do not use the network manager until fixed.

Hope this can help a bit.
ASX
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby billwx » Tue May 10, 2016 12:04 am

Alas, so close. But my conf file already has the proper ssid. (Copied below with psk turned to x's by me for posting purposes.) The only thing i noticed was there is no closing bracket. Adding one on the next line has no effect.
network={
ssid="B&V Networks Ltd"
psk="xxxxxxxxx"
billwx
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: need wifi on laptop

Postby ericbsd » Tue May 10, 2016 4:30 am

User avatar
ericbsd
Developer
 
Posts: 1096
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 54 times


Return to General support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron